Pushin’ Buttons

So, I’m a bit of a scatterbrain and that comes with the territory of being a creative artsy-fartsy individual. I enjoy painting, drawing, charcoaling, oil pasteling, watercoloring and whatever-material-I-can-get-my-hands-on-ing. For now I’ve been playing with sculpey. Here’s what I’ve been up to the past few days!

I took some scupley:

Rolled some sculpey out with my bare hands.

Used bacon-flavored chapstick (don’t ask, it was a gag gift from a friend) to create a button ridge. There was some little metal contraption in my laundry room I took because I thought I could rig the machines with it and do laundry for free. It didn’t work, but it sure worked for this project.

Then, after baking each button in the oven, I painted them white because color looks richer and truer against a white backdrop.

Then after speeding up the drying process with my handy-dandy blow-dryer, I painted each button according to my friends’ color combo requests. Using a nail to hold the buttons made it easy to maneuver them around and created smooth and fingerprint-less works of art.

After signing my monogram/signature on the bottom of each button, spraying them with a clear Krylon protective coating, I moved on to threading each button to give it that genuine button feel. I tied together six strands of thread and even ran the strands through some watercolor if I found the color wasn’t right.

No threading needle required here, kids.

I won’t go into specifics about how I professionally man-handled some framing wire and tied & knotted the thread until I felt it was at the point it wouldn’t whittle loose, but I got the job done. I don’t know how jewelry makers actually go about creating a ring, nor do I have the proper tools, but this was my creative way of figuring things out, and dang it, it worked!

Voila! Custom & homemade delights for my friends! And I didn’t even need to worry about sizing them…sweet.

 

 

If you’d like to share your thoughts, offer freelance/commissioned work, vent about people who text while driving or ask a question in the privacy of an email, please do! (tinythai85[at]hotmail.com) I’ll be sure to throw back a mishmash of relevant words.
One thought on “Pushin’ Buttons

  1. Charlotte says:

    What a simply clever & creative idea. I love it!

Leave a Reply

